Keeping you up to date with all things Rare Spares.

Rare Spares

Rare Spares Blog

  • Join Us on Facebook!
  • Visit Us on YouTube!
  • Follow Us on Instagram!
  • Subcribe to Our RSS Feed

Rare Spares Legend Award

Launched in 2008, the Rare Spares Legend award was created to recognise the lifetime achievements of those that have given great levels of dedication to the Australian and New Zealand automotive industry and enthusiast community.

Each legend was presented with their own exclusive gold helmet designed and painted by well-known artist John Kral. The iconic gold helmets were mounted in an elegant display case – making them a great way to honour those who’ve worked for the betterment of our enthusiast sport.

Rather than being an ongoing award, the Rare Spares Legend Hall of Fame was constrained to ten, select inductees. Run over 10 years, each year’s new inductee was presented with their award during a dedicated ceremony that preceded the popular Saturday evening Summernats Supercruise.

Proudly supported by Rare Spares, the annual Summernats car festival is the biggest event on the Australian enthusiast calendar – making it the ideal setting to present this prestigious award. After the presentation, each inductee was taken on paraded lap before the large, appreciative crowd – which also signalled the start of the Supercruise.

To ensure each of the 10 inductees received the national recognition they richly deserved, they were celebrated with a professional photo shoot along with a dedicated, full-page advertisement in Street Machine magazine – Australia’s premier modified car magazine.


Rod Hadfield                      2008

Howard Astill                     2009

Chick Henry                        2010

Owen Webb                        2011

Peter Fitzpatrick                  2012

Geoff Seddon                      2013

John Taverna                      2014

Drago Ostric                       2015

Tony O’Donnell                   2016

Les McVeigh                       2017

At the initial launch, then General Manager, David Rayner OAM commented, “Every Director at Rare Spares has taken so much from the motor industry. It has provided us with the basis of our successful business and has also given us many lifelong friends and acquaintances. The entire Board felt the Legend Award was an appropriate way to give something back to the industry.”

Befittingly, Rare Spares co-founder, the late Les McVeigh was the 10th and last recipient. Awarded posthumously, the well-supported nomination not only recognised Les’ life-long dedication to growing Rare Spares into a world-renowned automotive parts manufacturer and supplier, but also his huge contribution to the Australian restoration and enthusiast car scene. The honour was graciously accepted by Les’ wife, Heather and daughter, Melissa at Summernats 30, 2017.

For more information on each of the incredibly worthy legends, head to: 

Comments are closed